South Sudanese President forms Unity Government


South Sudanese president Salva Kiir has announced the formation of the war torn country’s unity government Thursday, March 12, 2020.

Under a new arrangement, Kiir will control 20 ministries in the Cabinet, while Vice President Riek Machar’s Sudan People’s Liberation Movement-in-Opposition Party will control Nine.

Last month, Salva Kiir renamed Riek Machar as his deputy as part of a peace agreement.

The two split over allegations of a coup d’etat plot by Machar six years ago plunging the country into civil war.

The lack of consensus devolved into fighting, sparking the county’s civil war with the opposition group gaining control of swaths of Northeastern and Eastern South Sudan.

Machar’s wife, Angelina Teny, was named defense minister and his aide, Puot Kong, was appointed petroleum minister.

Salva Kiir dissolved his government in February before naming Machar as vice president. The decision came after negotiations that saw the president accept reversing the decision to divide the nation into 32 states. The country will return to its original 10 states with three administrative areas.

The division of states was the major hangup in a peace agreement originally negotiated in 2017.

Salva Kiir previously welcomed back Machar to the vice presidency in 2016 in an attempt at a power sharing agreement, but he was replaced less than a year later citing accusations of another coup plot.

Sudan’s civil war displaced more than 2.2 million people into other countries and made more than 1.4 million without homes.

Source: UPN

Leave a Reply